More Mini-Reviews

Animal Farm – George Orwell

Rating: 5 out of 5.

This is one of those books that can provoke endless discussion and honestly, the internet isn’t really the sort of place to have the conversations that this book provokes.

It’s a great read if a little terrifying and heart-breaking. You feel for fate of some of the characters, mostly Boxer, the hard-working, dedicated horse that’s looking forward to his retirement and instead worked to near death and sent to the knackers yard as a reward.

I’ve always been a bit afraid of pigs. Now I know why.

Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less – Greg McKeown

Rating: 4 out of 5.

A completely new way of thinking that can be summed up into the words ‘Less, but better.’

Certainly given me some food for thought and helping me in establishing what I want from ‘life’ and how to apply myself in getting there. The talk/examples were a bit corporate and therefore I felt tricky to apply to the non-business life I lead. I am not silicone valley, I am not the CEO of a large company, but it made for some interesting reading non-the less.


These mini-reviews were done, purely because I didn’t come out the other side of reading with anything I felt I could discuss or have any more to add. Animal Farm, there’s a lot more that could be said, but it’s already been said before; regardless of thoughts on it. Animal Farm isn’t exactly a long book (120ish pages) and Essentialism came out bigger than a short read (267 pages) so they’re not the normal novellas that I’d like to feature in Mini-Reviews, but here they are all the same.

Both enjoyable reads for very different reasons.

4 comments

  1. Animal Farm is a great book. I know most people’s experience with it will be through school- as it was for me- but that is a shame it is a better book than that.

    Cheers,

    Pete.

    Like

Leave a comment